RADIATION TREATMENTS WERE SUCCESSFUL

Three and a half months removed from the last of my summer radiation treatments for prostate cancer, my new PSA blood test indicates that the cancer is now gone.

My last PSA prior to radiation therapy was 10.25.  It is now 1.07 on a scale where 0-4 is considered normal.  The doctor confirmed today that all indications are the cancer is gone.  I will get my PSA retested every 6 months going forward.  They expect that my next PSA test may see the number come down even a bit further and stabilize somewhere in .3 to .7 range.

I relayed my personal thanks to not only my doctor but also to the entire radiation staff at the MD Anderson Cancer Center.

So, I now have a semi-annual blood test to take for the rest of my life, but I would say that is a pretty good trade. 

Hopefully, sharing my experience may motivate older men to have this procedure done, even though your doctor may not recommend it.  Also, if you do test positive, know that there are very likely non-invasive options available for treatment if you catch it early.

*    *    *    *    *

Here are links to previous posts about my prostate cancer diagnosis experience.








2 thoughts on “RADIATION TREATMENTS WERE SUCCESSFUL”

    1. Thanks much, Austin. I appreciate that you still seem to be monitoring my website. I know that a lot (most?) of my posts are political in nature, and not everyone’s cup-o-tea. But I do try to mix posts about a lot of different subjects. That includes personal stuff like my experience with cancer.

      Like

Please leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.